top of page

One Step, One Mile at a Time


I have been on a journey to reach some of my personal goals recently. As many of you know, I used to play sports in my younger years, soccer and tennis to be exact. Then, I got older and got less active. I have attempted to stay relatively fit in my older years in order to be a better me, including better mom, wife, counselor, etc. I have found something that I enjoy more and more as I age is running.

If you have ever tried to run long distances, you know that this can be very challenging especially after long breaks, sometimes the equivalent of years. In March, I set a goal to run my first 5k prior to my next birthday. I started training with the help of the C25K app, and the day before my birthday, I ran my first 5k. I achieved my goal! To say that I was proud of myself would be an understatement.

Currently, I am training for a 10k with race date to be determined with the ultimate goal of running a half marathon in the spring of 2016. There are some lessons I have been reminded of during this training journey so far, and I believe the affirmation of these beliefs have also helped me to continue be a better counselor.

  • I reaffirmed my belief that I can achieve anything I set my mind to do. Is it hard? Yes! Are there times when I would love to roll over and go back to sleep instead of running in the wee hours of the morning? Yes! Do I want to walk instead of run when my interval timer is telling me I have 5 more minutes of running to go? Yes! Do I feel better about myself and have a sense of accomplishment after I push through the mental barrier and finish my run? Absolutely!

I feel like we can achieve whatever goal we set our minds to achieve. It may not be a pretty journey (I certainly don’t look pretty out there sweating and panting), but it is worth it in the end. One step at a time, one can make moves toward their goals. Some days are not good days, but in the end, we acknowledge that it wasn’t a good day and resolve to try again tomorrow or another day. We can keep moving forward, and it is worth it.

  • The 15 minute rule. I hadn’t heard of this until recently, and I feel like it applies to more than running. The 15 minute rule goes something like: Run for 15 minutes. If it doesn’t feel good, go home and try again another day.

I think this can be applied to anything in our lives. Most of the time the anticipation is what kills our motivation or desire. We think it’s too hard to get started. We don’t want to put for the effort to get dressed and go. However, once we get there, we usually have a great time and don’t regret going. Get dressed. Show up for 15 minutes. If it is still awful, go home and try again another day. My guess is after 15 minutes, you will choose to stick it out.

  • I have to take time-out for me. I have a busy schedule between work and family, but I have learned that I feel better and can better perform my duties at work and home when I take time out for me. It’s hard. I have to get up an extra hour earlier in the morning in order to do it, but I roll out of bed and do it. I feel better afterwards. Then I have more energy and focus to be present for my clients and my loved ones during the day. I am a better me when I take time for me.

I think a lot of us tend to focus on what others need from us and put our own needs to the side. This in the end leaves us feeling drained, burnt out, and not operating to our fullest potential. When we take time to replenish ourselves (mind, body, and spirit), we can better meet our obligations and be there for our loved ones, teammates, coworkers, etc. We have to put our air mask on first before we can help others with theirs.

What replenishes your spirit? What goals do you have that you would like to accomplish? One step, one mile at a time you can get there. If I can, I know you can too.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page